Alagappa University

Accredited with ‘A’ Grade by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) is located at Karaikudi in Tamil Nadu. This University has emerged from the galaxy of institutions initially founded by the great philanthropist and educationist Dr. RM. Alagappa Chettiar.

Alagappa University was brought into existence by a Special Act of the Government of Tamil Nadu in May 1985 with the objective of fostering research, development and dissemination of knowledge in various branches of learning. Alagappa University is recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India.

The University is a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU), as well as the member of the Association of Common Wealth Universities (ACU),

Profile of Directorate of Collaborative Programmes.

One of the primary objectives of higher education’s, by way of disseminating knowledge with the help of collaborative mode of education was emerged into existence in Alagappa University during the year 2001-02. This unique, socially relevant collaborative programmes were generated by introducing need based, skill oriented specialized programmes through the institutions having adequate physical and academic resources. The essential, quality oriented readiness of physical and academic facilities available in the institutions are assessed by a team of experts and on fulfillment of University requirements, institutions have been recognized to offer non-conventional, job-oriented programmes catering to the need of the community.

In accordance with the specialization in terms of infrastructure, accommodation, student support service, faculty expertise, 43 institutions have been recognized by Alagappa University spreading over India and overseas to offer 44 programmes comprising of Undergraduate, Postgraduate, Certificate diploma and Postgraduate Diploma focusing institutions on the following areas of specializations.